top of page
Athletic Trainer of the Year

The CATA Athletic Trainer of the Year Award is presented annually to a CATA member for outstanding contributions to the Athletic Training profession in Connecticut.


Criteria for nomination:

  • Individual must be a member in good standing of the NATA & CATA

  • Individual must have a current BOC Certification

  • Individual must have a current Connecticut Athletic Trainer license

  • Individual must currently be practicing and/or teaching in Connecticut in the athletic training profession (part or full-time)

Nominations open March 15th and close April 1st. No self-nominations will be accepted.

Nominated ATs will be contacted and required to submit supporting documentation by April 15th.

Please complete the nomination form below.



Award Winners

2023      Sara MacDonough-Civitello

2022      Paul Manwaring

2021      Jennifer Mead

2020      Sam Scarneo-Miller

2019      Catie Dann

​2018       Perry Siegel

2017      Janelle Francisco
2016      Jeffrey Shanley
2015      Ernie Hallbach
2014      Eleni Diakogeorgiou
2013      Julie Alexander
2012      Neal Glaviano
2011      Meghan McCaffrey
2010      Mary Cardarelli
2009      Mark McCarthy
2008      Leo Katsetos
2007      Vicky Graham
2006      Bob Howard
2005      Tim Speicher
2004      Doug Casa
2003      Patty Flynn
2002      Donald Bagnall
2001      Roger Guyas
2000      Gary Morin
1999      Tom McCarthy
1998      Kelly Stokoe
1997      Steve Cannata
1996      John Gilmour
1995      Cathy Horne
1994      Kathy Pirog

bottom of page