top of page
CATA Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame award recognizes the very best in our profession. This award for lifetime achievement honors dedicated members that have contributed to athletic training by their leadership, service, scholarship, promotion of the profession and professionalism at the local, state, district and national level.  A Hall of Fame candidate exemplifies the mission statement of the CATA and the NATA Code of Ethics; by their conduct and advancement of the profession.

Criteria for nomination:

  • Minimum 20 years service as an athletic trainer or related profession (i.e. team physician)

  • Minimum 15 years member CATA or service in Connecticut if not an athletic trainer.

  • Significant service to the athletic training profession especially in the State of Connecticut (i.e. Contributions to the CATA, EATA, and/or NATA; Service to the community - professional and/or civilian; Education - presentations, publications, etc.)

  • NATA Hall of Fame will result in automatic induction into the CATA Hall of Fame


Nomination Process:

  • Nomination must come from current CATA member

  • Completed nomination form below.

  • Three letters from CATA members which support nomination from CATA member, physicians, or administrators emailed to:

Nominations open March 15th and close April 1st.

Nominated ATs will be contacted and required to submit supporting documentation by April 15th.



Hall of Fame Recipients


Class of 2023

Marc Aceto

Class of 2022

Julie Alexander

Class of 2021

James Doran

Bud Gouveia

Class of 2018

Daphne Benas

Charles Davis Jr.

Class of 2017

Ernest Hallbach
Robert Howard
Roger Guyas (posthumously)


Class of 2016

Vicky Graham

Class of 2015

Gary Morin


Class of 2014

Donald Bagnall
Steve Cannata
Dr. David Yeo


Class of 2013

John Gilmour
Thomas McCarthy
Mary Cardarelli
Steve Witkowski (posthumously)
Walter Grockowski (posthumously)
Richard A. Wargo (posthumously)


Class of 2012

Margaret "Peggy" Hogan
Robert Mastrianni
Oliver W. "Bill" Dayton (posthumously)
Michael Murphy (posthumously)
Frank Wandle (posthumously)


Class of 2011

​Rick Burr
Kathy Pirog
Maryann Laska
Cathy Horne


Class of 2010

​Carl Krein

bottom of page